Social media isn’t as scary as the gurus want you to think.

Every time I attend a business event I am inevitably asked what I do. “My passion is helping small businesses connect with their customers online and off using social media, blogging,…”

Her body shifts uneasily. There’s a measurable distance now between us. We’re both uncomfortable.

I jump in with, “Social media is just new tools for what you’ve always done.”

She relaxes. She smiles. She exhales and says,“I’m so glad you said that.” We’re both relieved.

It’s time for everyone to get their undies out of a bunch. Social media is not neurosurgery.

Every time I introduce a client to a new social media tool, do you know the first hurdle they face? They don’t know what to say. My guess is people encountered the same fear the first time they held a telephone receiver. I tell them to just start a conversation. Because that’s exactly what they’re doing.

Plain and simple social media is just chatting.

About Mary Rarick

Caffeine-addicted hyphen enthusiast, grammar geek and former editor; lover of shoes, vacuum cleaner tracks and compelling content; enthusiastic, perennial cause adopter; hash tag abuser, connector and social media strategist.
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

