Taking the time to test-drive tech tools

The largest group of neverending items on my task list involve tech tools. As you all know, I’m a bit of a productivity junkie, sometimes to my own detriment. But I do love a good tool that saves me time and makes it easier for me to get a job done. Frankly I’m all for getting the have-to’s done so that I have more time for the want-to’s.
Each week, I try at least one new tool to see if it’s a good fit for my toolbox. But, as you can probably guess, if I’m overwhelmed or overworked, this is the first thing that gets pushed off the week’s list.
In an effort to encourage myself to get through this ever-expanding list, I thought it might be beneficial to put it out there for everyone to see. Not only am I outing myself and hopefully embarrassing myself into getting these done already but maybe you’ll benefit from looking at the list (and subsequent reviews) as well.
To be clear, some of these things I’ve downloaded and dabbled in; they just need what I like to call a “deep dive” to see if they’re a good fit for my toolbox. Other tools I’ve only read or heard about.
Without further ado (drum roll, please) here’s my current list of tools that need a trial: 
Goodreader
iCloud
Dijo
Yammer
Flyteblog
Files Anywhere
Flavors.me
About.me
Twazzup
Topsy
social mention
ice rocket
Diggo
ActiveWords
Omwriter
Color
LastPass
Live Profile
Office Arrow
Yesware
Skyclerk
TripCubby
The plan is to work through this list and get back to you with a report of what’s working for me and why or which items I’ve chucked.
Tell me. Do you use any of these tools? Which ones do you use? Which ones should I skip?
About Mary Rarick

Caffeine-addicted hyphen enthusiast, grammar geek and former editor; lover of shoes, vacuum cleaner tracks and compelling content; enthusiastic, perennial cause adopter; hash tag abuser, connector and social media strategist.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking the time to test-drive tech tools

  1. Leanne says:

    Hmmm… I have not used or even heard of these tools. I await your report! I am curious about about omword, ActiveWords, and Color. Oh and Yammer because Yammer is just fun to say. Perhaps it’s as productive and functional as it is fun to say?

  2. Mary Rarick says:

    One can only hope, Leanne. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

