Dragon Dictation: Cure for writers’ block

Do you have a boatload of blog ideas floating around in your head?  And yet you find yourself loathe to get them down on paper? The hardest part for me is just getting started. It’s not that I lack for ideas. But putting them on paper? How difficult is that? Ummm…very.

If, like me, getting thoughts onto paper is one of the many things tripping you up, I’ve got the perfect tool for you. Dragon Dictation is as simple as press, speak and send. I am not even kidding you.

I was skeptical. How accurate could it be? I mean, seriously; it’s free software. So  I downloaded the app to my iPad and proceeded to give it a go. And now I admit it: I’m an addict. Everything I’ve written since then has been filtered through the app.

Here are a few of the things I love about Dragon Dictation:

  • Easy of use. You don’t need to be a techie to use this software. And there’s no learning curve. At all.
  • You can add punctuation and even paragraphs (with your voice) as you “write” or, if you prefer, you can go back and edit your writing.
  • It’s easily exported. You can email it to yourself or send it to either Twitter or Facebook.

I still haven’t been writing as much as I’d like, but this tool is a step in the right direction. What about you? What tools do you use to write?

About Mary Rarick

Caffeine-addicted hyphen enthusiast, grammar geek and former editor; lover of shoes, vacuum cleaner tracks and compelling content; enthusiastic, perennial cause adopter; hash tag abuser, connector and social media strategist.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

